“Technical skills are important, but without employability skills,
technical skills are merely commodities. Employability skills
turn intellectual commodities into intellectual capital.”
– Peter Saflund

Information Technology Workforce Skills Study,
Broadening Advanced Technological Education Connections

Project team

Principal Investigator (PI)
John Chamberlain
Senior Research Associate
Center for Occupational Research and Development
chamber@cord.org


Co-Principal Investigator (Co-PI) and Partner ATE Center
John Sands, Ph.D.
Department Chair - Professor Computer Integrated Technologies
PI, Center for Systems Security and Information Assurance
Moraine Valley Community College
sands@morainevalley.edu


Co-Principal Investigator (PI)
Rick Roberts
Assistant Director, SC ATE Center of Excellence
Florence Darlington Technical College
Rick.Roberts@fdtc.edu


Senior Project Personnel - Project Director
Hope Cotner
Vice President, U.S. Projects
Center for Occupational Research and Development
hcotner@cord.org


Senior Project Personnel
Holly Doughty
Senior Research Associate
Center for Occupational Research and Development
hdoughty@cord.org


Senior Project Personnel -
Advisory Board Coordinator/Internal Evaluation

Richard C. Hinckley, Ph.D.
President/CEO
Center for Occupational Research and Development
hinckley@cord.org


Partner ATE Center Director
Marilyn Barger, Ph.D., P.E.
Executive Director/Principal Investigator
Florida Advanced Technological Education (FLATE) Center
Hillsborough Community College
mbarger@hccfl.edu


Partner ATE Center Director
Elaine L. Craft
Director, SC ATE Center of Excellence
PI, Mentor-Connect: Leadership Development and Outreach Initiative for ATE
Florence-Darlington Technical College
Elaine.Craft@fdtc.edu


External Evaluation
Craig McAtee
Executive Director
National Coalition of Advanced Technology Centers (NCATC)
ncatc1@gmail.com




Contact Us
To learn more about getting involved in the Necessary Skills Now project, email hcotner@cord.org